Color: Outback Mocha
Color: Desert Sands
Coolaroo

Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade

Brand: Coolaroo
Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shades protect your patios and windows from sun damage. These shades are made from weather resistant fabric and components resistant to fade, mold, and mildew in addition to maki ... (read more or see colors)
4.6  out of 5

Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade Coolaroo
4.6  out of 5

Benefits & Upgrades
Free Shipping*
Change size below to see your price
Change Size Below To See Your Price
WIDTH    

HEIGHT    
Normally made in 11 business days.
See Below
$150
Free Shipping
$150
This item has been added to your wishlist.
Nationwide Blind Installation
Schedule a free live video face2face consultation

Experts give you personalized design advice to help you pick the perfect blind or shade

Fits perfectly with your schedule - always on time!

Schedule a free consultation
Email Us
Schedule a Call
1.800.505.1905
Colors
Melbourne Sandalwood 52000
Melbourne Sandalwood 52000
No Sample
$206
Outback Deco Alder Wood 12000
Outback Deco Alder Wood 12000
No Sample
$150
Outback 90 Cocoa 27000
Outback 90 Cocoa 27000
No Sample
$161
Outback 95 Walnut 32000
Outback 95 Walnut 32000
No Sample
$170
Rural Vista Spring Forest 96000
Rural Vista Spring Forest 96000
$323
Outback 95 Latte 34000
Outback 95 Latte 34000
No Sample
$170
Rural Vista Winter Sky 95000
Rural Vista Winter Sky 95000
$323
Urban Life Hearthstone 84000
Urban Life Hearthstone 84000
$288
Melbourne Spring Sage 56000
Melbourne Spring Sage 56000
$206
Beachside Nantucket 62000
Beachside Nantucket 62000
$288
Urban Life Cabana 86000
Urban Life Cabana 86000
$288
Urban Life Pearlmint 83000
Urban Life Pearlmint 83000
$288
Beachside Sea Shore 66000
Beachside Sea Shore 66000
$288
Urban Life Canvas 82000 copy
Urban Life Canvas 82000 copy
$288
Urban Life Wood Grain 81000
Urban Life Wood Grain 81000
$288
Rural Vista Starburst 94000
Rural Vista Starburst 94000
$323
Outback 95 Rye 35000
Outback 95 Rye 35000
No Sample
$170
Brisbane Tan 44000
Brisbane Tan 44000
No Sample
$176
Rural Vista Pale Blossom 93000
Rural Vista Pale Blossom 93000
$323
Urban Life Taupe 87000
Urban Life Taupe 87000
$288
Rural Vista Summer Thatch 92000
Rural Vista Summer Thatch 92000
$323
Melbourne Linen 55000
Melbourne Linen 55000
No Sample
$206
Brisbane Desert Sand 45000
Brisbane Desert Sand 45000
$176
Outback 90 Smoke 24000
Outback 90 Smoke 24000
$161
Outback 95 Pebble 31000
Outback 95 Pebble 31000
No Sample
$170
Outback 95 Ecru 33000
Outback 95 Ecru 33000
No Sample
$170
Brisbane White 43000
Brisbane White 43000
$176
Melbourne White 57000
Melbourne White 57000
$206
Melbourne Dawn 59000
Melbourne Dawn 59000
No Sample
$206
Melbourne Birch 51000
Melbourne Birch 51000
$206
Outback 90 Southern Sunset 22000
Outback 90 Southern Sunset 22000
$161
Outback Deco Bamboo 11000
Outback Deco Bamboo 11000
$150
Rural Vista Wicker 97000
Rural Vista Wicker 97000
$323
Beachside Tropical Sunrise 65000
Beachside Tropical Sunrise 65000
$288
Outback 90 Terracotta 23000
Outback 90 Terracotta 23000
$161
Beachside Aqua Passion 61000
Beachside Aqua Passion 61000
$288
Outback 90 Blue Steel 2500
Outback 90 Blue Steel 2500
$161
Urban Life Feather Grey 85000_55
Urban Life Feather Grey 85000_55
No Sample
$288
Beachside Conch Shell 94000
Beachside Conch Shell 94000
$288
Outback 90 Montecito 26000
Outback 90 Montecito 26000
$161
Rural Vista Autumn Brier 91000
Rural Vista Autumn Brier 91000
$323
Beachside Dock Side 63000
Beachside Dock Side 63000
$288
Outback 90 Mocha 21000
Outback 90 Mocha 21000
$161
Melbourne Java 5400
Melbourne Java 5400
$206
Outback Deco Brushwood 13000
Outback Deco Brushwood 13000
$150
Brisbane Brown 41000
Brisbane Brown 41000
$176
Brisbane Black 42000
Brisbane Black 42000
$176
Melbourne Black 53000
Melbourne Black 53000
$206

Choose a color to
preview in the window
Preview
Roll over image to zoom in
Order These Sample

Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shades protect your patios and windows from sun damage. These shades are made from weather resistant fabric and components resistant to fade, mold, and mildew in addition to making the shade simple to clean. A light-filtering knit or weave fabric construction significantly reduces glare without darkening a room's interior. The smooth action roller clutch mechanism creates a smooth, even roll. Shades are ordered as wall or ceiling mount. If you are installing between 2 vertical posts, you will need to deduct at least 1/8" off your measurement.

Install Time: 20-25 minutes

We Recommend:

  • Choose from a crank lift or a continuous cord loop for easier operation.
  • Stainless steel tie-downs help secure the shade in position.
  • Double cooling factor that allows air to flow while providing superior UV protection makes this shade great for windows that receive afternoon sun.

Fabric:

Fabric | Openness factor:
Urban Life | 92% UV Block
Brisbane | 80% UV Block
Melbourne | 92% UV Block
Outback 90 | 90% UV Block
Outback 95 | 95% UV Block
Outback Deco | 85% UV Block
Rural Vista | 95% UV Block
Beachside | 92% UV Block

Safety:

This product complies with CPSC child safety guidelines. If you have children in your home on a regular basis, CPSC recommends the use of cordless window coverings.


Quick Links
Care and Warranty
How to Measure
How to Install - Hand Chain
How to Install - Hand Crank

Product Specifications Need Help?  
Coolaroo Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade
Standard Blind Specifications
  • Minimum Width: 18"
  • Maximum Width: 144"
  • Minimum Height: 14"
  • Maximum Height: 144"
  • Made in: USA
Mounting Requirements
  • Minimum space needed for brackets: 2 1/4" x 3"
  • Brackets are Universal: Ceiling, Wall or Side Mount

 

Product Options Need Help?  
Coolaroo Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade

Standard Options:
 
Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade4.65109127
Very Pleased with our CoolaroosWe purchased the Coolaroo shades for our newly built screened porch. The porch gets the late afternoon sun. The shades make a big difference! We can pull the shades down in the afternoon to block the glare of the sun, yet our view of the backyard is not blocked and we still get the air/breeze flowing through. It did not take long to install all six of the shades. Rolling them up and down is very easy. We like the latch/hooks on the bottom of the shades so they can be hooked to the wood when closed on a breezy day. When the shades are rolled up, we hardly notice they are there.We researched and compared products and prices on various websites and we are pleased with the cost and quality!April 3, 2014
I love my cooaroo shadesWe love our coolaroo shades. They really do cut down on the heat from the sun on our west facing screened in porch. The only improvement I can think of is that the location of the tension device should be included in your order specifications. We have railing on our porch and the cord goes below the top rail making it difficult to install the tension device properly. We should have had an option as to the length of the cord, since the cord cannot be shortened so that the tension device could be installed above the rail.October 11, 2011
Excellent ChoiceThis blind was installed on my new pergola on the side with the most intense sun. What a huge difference it makes. We can still see the kids in the pool area through this blind! We are so happy with this! I would recommend calling customer service when you order to make sure you get the right size! They are so helpful!May 21, 2013
Coolaroo Designer Patio ShadesThese custom shades were exactly what I wanted and were $100 leas than what Home Depot was going to charge. Also they were delivered two weeks faster than Home Depot. Plus Home Depot did not include the valance option.Only issue was the valance hardware did not have instructions. In particular you must drill-out sides to allow small screws to fit into roller brackets. But I figured it out and it fit perfectly.August 3, 2010
Need Instructions for CornersWe needed shades for the left and front of our screened room. We ordered Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shades - Melborne Birch, Mounted Outside with Reversed Roll. Shades blocks as much sun light has we had hoped and look very nice. Mounting was easy and exact for the two shades in the front. The problem came with trying to put the single shade on the left at the corner. Instructions are needed on how to compensate for the overlap of material and butting the two end caps up against one another. I had to reorder another blind two inches shorter to allow for the meeting of the shade hardware and material. The pictures below show the corner before and after installation.It is also quite trying to install the shade with the valance on. It definitely takes to people and two ladders. In our room, the left side of the shade was butted up against the wall. First we held the assembled shade up to verify the fit, and mark the outer edge on the right. Then I attached the left bracket to the wall. Then we attached the valance to both brackets and verified the location for the holes on the right. Took the valance down and drilled holes for the right bracket. We then reattached the valance to both pieces and screwed in the bottom screw. The top screw needed a socket wrench to tighten because of the valance blocking access to the screw. This is true for both sides. After the right side bracket was tight, we unrolled half of the shade to easily slip the shade into the bracket slot. Bottom line is, installation would be a lot easier without the valance, but the valance greatly improves the appearance of the shades.October 12, 2013
Coolaroo shade - Outdoor GazeboShades were exactly as promised on the day promised, the quality is excellent and we thoroughly enojy them!July 2, 2012
Insufficient sun blockage at 80%80% sun blockage sounds like a lot, but it isn't. For a west and water-facing porch like ours, we really need 95 to 97%, but didn't figure that out from the one or two reviews that mentioned it. We ordered samples of the fabrics and didn't like the ones with heavy texture, so we got the plain Brisbane to allow us to see the view of the lake. After one summer, we are having to replace them with much heavier shades because we cannot stand the glare in the late afternoon, when we are most likely to want to sit on the porch. These were a little difficult to install. They look fine except for the plastic bead chain used to raise and lower them. The tie-downs don't stay connected if it gets at all windy. The shades do keep the porch, and therefore the house, somewhat cooler, and they were very reasonably priced compared with what we are having to get to replace them.April 20, 2012
Porch is so much coolerI purchased 3 Coolaroo exterior sun shades in the Melbourne Birch color. Once my contractor installed the first one (which took him a while to figure out, the instructions were not the best), the other 2 went up quickly. They are lovely, block the sun and make the screened porch much more pleasant. We decided we did not like the plastic tie downs so did not use them. My porch does not get much wind.June 30, 2014
Great Experience!I ordered the blinds for my Aunt who lives in FL. I live in Kentwood, LA. My Aunt mentioned that she went to Lowes to get a shade for her porch because the sun came in and heated up the porch and her house. They wanted $700. I don't know what she was getting, but I told her I could do better online. I recommended the Coolaroo because I'm familiar with it and it lets the breeze in. I found your website and sent her a picture of the shade and she picked the color. I recommended she pay for the installer to come and measure because she is 89 and I didn't trust her measurements. The installer emailed the info to me and I ordered the shades. They came in in less than a week, the installer came out 2 days later they are installed and she is happy! And she got 2 shades and installation for $515.00. I have purchased shades for our patio, but I could not get one the width I needed. I bought the material to make my own curtain. If I'd only know about you before.I found everything about dealing with you a pleasure and will recommend you to anyone that needs custom shades. Being able to get an installer through your website was definitely what sealed the deal. Not everyone has access to someone who can install things.March 12, 2014
No Buyers RemorseOur exterior sun shade was delivered one week ago. I anticipated a struggle installing it with my husband. It was a piece of cake! The entire process took less than 25 minutes, which included trying to get the box open (well packaged).It's the linen color and looks great; it is not made from cheap materials as some we looked at online . You're still able to see out to the patio (not a heavy material), but it does block the morning sun and heat. Well made and designed. Strongly recommend getting the free fabric swatches first prior to purchase.April 23, 2009
Excellent product; made-to-order worked perfectly!We ordered two custom sizes for inside mount. Both blinds were EXACTLY the size we ordered. Be advised, if you specify inside mount, the blind plus mechanism will be the exact width you specify -- the blind itself is ~1" more narrow on each side. Our blinds are installed on a porch with a screen; the border that holds the screen is also ~1", so the edge of the blind exactly matches our opening. I figured this would be the case based on the specs listed online, but it is nice that their description matches the product produced/shipped.The blinds themselves block the harsh evening light that baked our patio. I would estimate about a 10-degree (F) temperature difference between blind open and blind closed.They make two different light-blocking fabrics. We had the thinner ones at our old house and we ordered the thicker ones this time. We much prefer the thicker ones as they block more heat/light. The thinner ones are nice if you want to take the edge off the light but would still like to be able to look through them. The thicker ones offer more privacy and more cooling.July 7, 2010
Excellent Sun Shade... a little spendy!Our primary purpose for the blinds was to shade our west-facing, screened patio from the afternoon sun. I settled on these blinds after ordering about a dozen swatches on this and the blinds.com version. We needed the 96" length and the availability for multiple custom widths (no two panels on our patio screening were the same size), so this worked well. I read the reviews that said the sun protection was minimal or useless, so in the end, I taped up the various swatches on our screen to compare which ones had the best sun blockage and narrowed it down to two: the Melbourne Spring Sage & the Melbourne Java. These two had the tightest weave and let through the least amount of sunlight. The Sydney collection was actually more expensive, but those patterns did not offer the same sun protection. We ended up getting the Spring Sage and I couldn't be happier. We no longer have the glaring afternoon sun on our patio and the patio is noticeably cooler. This is South Florida in the summertime, so that is very important! They had the added side effect of giving us a bit of privacy. Although we can still see out, unless we have the patio light on at night, it's very difficult for our neighbors to see in. Installation is a bit of a headache. My husband already had experience installing other blinds and window treatments, but he laughed when he saw (after he'd gotten the blinds up) that the estimated time was 20 min. To be fair, though, he did the second blind in under 1/2 hour so there is a learning curve. There are no instructions for installing the awning piece that came with the blinds. He figured it out fairly quickly and it seems pretty intuitive once you've done it, but it might be a difficulty if you are not really handy.June 17, 2013
Pretty Useless for Sun ShadingAlthough they tout that these shades offer 80% UV shade, they're virtually useless to keep sun out of a room. I paid over $1000 for two custom shades. I could have hung a sheet and had better sun protection. I am just disgusted with the firm for not being more clear about this product!April 22, 2013
Very Satisfied with Exterior ShadeWe purchased the Coolaroo Exterior Sun Shade (Brisbane Desert Sand) to reduce afternoon and evening sun for an outdoor Arbor / Pergola. Total shade area covers an 8X10 section so we were at first hestitant to purchase, but are very glad we did.This shade does not block 100% of the sun light, but it significantly reduces afternoon sun and heat so that the space is enjoyable during that time. We like the semi-transparency as it still lets the breeze through and we can see our kids playing in the yard.Installation was not terribly difficult but instructions were lacking expecially since there was no mention of the metal valence that came with it.All in all very good purchase and would recommend it if you are not looking for a shade to completely block out the sun and light (but i believe there are other options / patterns that do).July 30, 2012
Exterior shadesYikes! Had a very negative experience trying to get custom shades for my screened porch. Started the order in October 2012 and ended up getting a total refund in January 2013. After measuring the window countless times and talking to multiple people who claimed to be able to get the order "correct", I ended up with 8 blinds that were totally useless to me. The problem? They were too narrow each time they were remade! The good news is the company reps reordered them each time. The bad news, they still did not get it right! After much frustration, the company, without hesitation I might add, agreed to a refund after I forwarded them proof that I donated the useless blinds to a charity. Those that venture to purchase, I wish you "good luck". Oh by the way, there is nothing unusual about my screened- in porch.January 14, 2013
Melbourne Series: Fantastic Shade!I paid extra to get the Melbourne series shade as I needed it for my west facing screen porch. Worth every penny! I got the shade in the Linen color which has a pattern to it. Its a subtle mix of beige and off-white. Very pretty.It's late afternoon and I'm on my porch with my laptop enjoying it which I haven't been able to do in the afternoon ever! While I can see the sun through the blind, it is not blinding me at all and I'm in perfect shade. I can actually look directly into the sun through the blind without having to look away.I highly recommend this shade!June 26, 2013
Coolaroo Exterior SunshadeWe are very happy with our Coolaroo shade. We ordered a rather wide one and it fit perfectly. The website made it easy to order and it arrived as scheduled. The quality is excellent and the instructions made it easy to install. We live in an active adult community where all of the homes are very similar. Our neighbors are already asking where we got our shade and, of course, we are referring them to Blinds.com.June 10, 2009
only complaint-my shade came with a white valance-great idea, but no instructions, or even mention of it in the accompanying instruction booklet-I also could not figure out how to mount the cover brackets, but I rigged a way to use the valance, and thereby not needing those covers. An instruction booklet needs to be more intuitive and thorough-other than that the shade works and looks great and does block out the sun -the way I was hoping it would!June 30, 2012
Screened Deck BlindsI ordered two blinds online not really knowing if I would really like them once I got them, and hoped I didn't have to send them back...They came much faster then I anticipated and I had an Installer do the Install for me. The only thing missing were instructions to install. But after a few minutes my installer said, he figured it out that it was easy enough. However I still think instructions or directions should be included?? I absolutely love these blinds and couldn't be happier with them, They even look high quality when viewing them either from the inside or the outside. With that said it's my intent to go ahead and order another set from Blinds.Com since I feel much better what the end result will be. Excellent Company from the point of ordering to receiving and installing, Bottom line, I'm Happy!! LOLOctober 30, 2014
Coolaroo Exterior Sun ShadesOur screen porch faces northwest, and we needed to replace our decrepit 18-year-old blinds with something that would block the sun at dinner time. We live in central Virginia and love to eat on our screened porch. The staff at Blinds.com recommended exterior shades, and they gave us good advice. We purchased the Coolaroo exterior sun shades in linen, and they are terrific.They were not easy to install. Ours was an "Inside Top Mount". Thus we had to follow directions for this installation. We soon discovered that it was close to impossible to install the valances which came with the sun shades (the holes drilled in the valances were very small and did not exactly line up with the shade mounts). Moreover, the valances were not needed since we were installing the shades inside the screens under the cover of wood framing.Once we decided to ditch the valances, the installation simplified. However, the directions didn't include the screw size or suggest the appropriate drill bit to use. We started with 1/8" drill bits, but found that 3/16" worked better. Our wood was dry and hard, and the larger size holes made the job easier. However, drilling the holes was still not easy since space was tight.Our sun shades our now up and we love them! The quality is excellent!July 26, 2009
1-20 of 110
Proceed to Checkout
Window Shopper App
Check out our new Window Shopper App Available on the iPhone & Google Play App Store