Exterior Porch Shades
0 Colors Available

Exterior Porch Shades

Width    
x
Height    
Colors:
 

 
White (adds 40%)
White (adds 40%)
Free Samples
 
Tan
Tan
Free Samples
 
Redwood
Redwood
Free Samples
 
Green
Green
Free Samples


Contemporary and early America colored shades are woven with American Basswood staves and heavy-duty twine. They are finished in weather-proof, mildew resistant colors. Rust resistant hardware and heavy-duty cords insure easy, trouble-free operation. Exterior Porch Shades are constructed with wind cords to prevent them from flapping around in windy conditions.

These roll up basswood shades can be positioned at any desired height. An optional valance can be added to conceal the working mechanisms.

This product complies with CPSC child safety guidelines. If you have children in your home on a regular basis, CPSC recommends the use of cordless window coverings.

Customer Reviews
Exterior Porch Shades4.555262
Lanai ShadesI am very pleased with the whole process of buying from Blinds.com. I was a bit hesitant about buying shades online where I couldn't see what I was getting, but their website helped make the whole process fairly simple. The important thing is that they delivered exactly what they display on the website. Very happy with the shades appearance and operation. They replaced some bamboo shades I bought from Lowe's which only lasted about 2 years. Counting on these to do much better.Really like the sway cords which prevent them from blowing in the breeze. Only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is that the instructions are not as detailed as I would have liked, especially for installing the sway cords. Hard to read. One customer talked about the draw cords lying around when the shades were retracted. I solved that with cleats mounted on the side frame. See picture. All in all, quite satisfied with dealer and product. Time will tell on durability, but I expect they should last much longer than my first ones.March 9, 2013
Perfect for my west-facing lanaiOn August 8 I created an account on your web site and was ready to order online, but before I did, I thought it best to speak to a human being and am glad I did. I spoke with a very nice lady who answered some questions and told me about a shipping expense due to the blinds' size so that it was not a surprise later. And she told me that it would take about 20 business days to make them + shipping time. On the late evening of August 29, I, being an impatient sort, emailed Customer Service and asked for a confirmation and tracking number. On August 30, Heidi provided me with an invoice and estimated date of shipment of 9/7/11. I replied to Heidi thanking her for her prompt reply. Later that morning, Julie responded with, "Thank you so much for allowing us to help you..."That very afternoon the blinds arrived at my front door, even beating the 20 work day manufacturing time!I shortened the blinds to fit 4 differently sized openings and finished hanging them on Labor Day with some help from my wife. They are beautiful, perfect, and just what I wanted. All four of them cost approximately what a local shop wanted for just one long blind!I am thrilled with the idea of bringing down two lines to the bottom rail to keep the blinds from blowing into the lanai. The originals blew in all the time, and I tried, unsuccessfully, to hold them down with a chair back. Works perfectly! Kudos for this, and I wonder why I didn't think of it over the 15 year lives of the first ones!They are perfect for keeping the blazing hot Florida sun off my lanai so we can eat on it in the evening.September 8, 2011
Great, but I had to call for install helpPlease see our zoomed in photo for help with install! After talking to customer service, and them walking me through what they did on the "model" they have, I decided everyone would find this pic useful.The most confusing part for me was the "cord tightener". Installed the same was as the model, this piece does not tighten anything. The way they instructed me to install it, it's more of a "detangler". It keeps the sway cord from getting twisted, and that's about it.July 27, 2013
Perfect Looks and PrivacyWe needed an outdoor shade for the screened porch that was durable, attractive and reasonably priced. Living in a "villa" /condo neighborhood, we wanted privacy, shade and a tropical look.The exterior porch shade of basswood (green tone) arrived within 10 days, pefectly cut and packaged and delivered by UPS. When installing, remember the draw cord is on the "right", that helped figuring out how to hang it. It's beautifully made and we are very pleased with our purchase.October 23, 2010
I am very please with the perfect fit, top quality, and appearance of my porch shade. The price was high but I am happy with the end product. This purchase was worth the price.October 23, 2012
Porch ShadesAfter looking for some time for a reasonably priced porch blind, we ordered your free samples. Upon deciding on a color, we measured and ordered 2 blinds. They came a week early, installed easily and look just like we wanted. Thanks for the great blinds!June 18, 2013
Exterior Porch ShadeThis blind was EXACTLY what we wanted for our new covered deck. During the early evening hours one side was blinded by the setting sun, so we knew we needed something wide enough to block the sun. This shade does the job! The people we worked with were very professional and worked with us to make sure we were happy with the product and the price. They succeeded on both counts!June 2, 2009
Better than anticipatedI was extremely pleased with this purchase. My husband installed the blinds easily and it looked professionally done. Even though the white blinds were a little more expensive, I am so glad I decided to get them. My trim is white and the white blinds made the installation look high-end. The quality of the blinds is even better than I had anticipated with wider slats than appeared in the pictures. I would definitely recommend these blinds for any screened porch.October 26, 2012
Great blinds, but poor instructionsI received 3 custom blinds for my covered deck to help shade the sun, which hits it especially during Fall and Winter. I work from home and try to operate from the desk whenever possible, and these blinds really help. I received the order much quicker than the estimate I was given on my order. The blinds appear to be of really good quality -- the basswood slats appear to be a good compromise between light weight and sturdy. They roll up and down very smoothly. The color was exactly what I expected from the photo on the website. I'm in Kansas, where the wind blows like crazy very often, and with the extra wind stability cords, the blinds stay put. They aren't quite stationary -- they get whipped around a bit (maybe 6 inches in & out), but the cords keep them pretty much in place and appear to protect them from damage. However, I wish there was a way to retract the cords when they aren't needed, because it's a bit unsightly to have 9 sets of cords hanging down when the 3 blinds are rolled up (2 stability cords and the pull cord on each). The installation was pretty easy, but I have two complaints about the setup. (1) The diagram showing how to connect the stability cords is practically unreadable -- it was very difficult to figure out. In fact, I was only able to do it by downloading instructions for similar blinds from a competitor's website. (2) The way the stability cords attach at the top results in some space contention at the bottom where I put some hardware for wrapping the pull cord -- it would be nice to have more eyelet hardware for the top so the right-side stability cord can be mounted away from the pull cord. Finally, it would also be nice to have a choice of right-side or left-side pull cords when ordering. Overall, I’m very satisfied!October 8, 2011
Exterior Sun ShadesThe quality of the sun shades was far superior to what I was expecting for the price. No other local store had anything close to what we received. ThanksFebruary 27, 2014
I love these blinds.I had absolutely no privacy from new neighbors that moved in and since I put these blinds up I can totally enjoy my porch again and they look great.June 7, 2013
Very helpful customer serviceWhen I needed some information before ordering I called Customer Service. She was very helpful, and since I was concerned about the expense of these blinds, she made sure I got the best deal offered.Once we got our blinds hung up, I was very impressed by how great they look! Easy to install, the hardware and the cords work fine and my installer said they are of good quality. But when I first opened the box they came in,I was disappointed with the feel and thinness of the wood slats. I was thinking about sending them back, but since the color was just right, I decided to give them a try,and I was happy I did. So, now, time will tell how well they hold up on our screened porch.June 5, 2012
Exterior blindsI ordered 10 blinds for a porch. Some of the blinds were different widths but all were suppose to be the same length.When they were hung the widths were right but the lengths were not all the same. That does affect the look when they are down.I did not rate for quality because I don't know yet how they will hold up. All other outdoor blinds I looked at were plastic and these being wood I don't know how long they will last.April 30, 2013
Well worth the priceYou can go to one of those home improvement places to get some blinds for your porch...we did before. But if you want beautiful, well-built, easy to install and durable 'real' blinds, buy these.May 22, 2011
recent purchasehigh quality blinds, easy to install. Good customer service-responsive to inquiries.September 23, 2012
BewareI had high hopes for these. These shades look good but they have a MAJOR flaw. The strings that pull the shades up and down and the loops that actually work to roll the shade up get EASILY tangled and blown out of their place by mild wind and movement. It is NOT easy to continually fix this problem and I have even had to take them down to fix them. It has happened each time I try to roll them up- horrible problem to have to deal with every time. Too bad because they look good- I recommend finding another product unfortunately.October 14, 2011
Poarch shadesI bought this shade for the primary purpose of privacy, shading was secondary. In terms of privacy, the shade is almost like having no shade at all. The saces between the shade strips are relatively wide so little privacy is provided. I live in a property with a large back porch but the lot line is relatively close so that when the neighbor is on his porch there is no sense of privacy. I thought that the shade would provide a visual barrier so that my neighbor would not be able to observe me while on the porch. But, I can see the neighbor standing over there, as he did before I put up the shade, looking at me and observing what I'm doing.I think there should have been some description about how much vision is available through this shade. Had I known, I would not have purchased it.June 4, 2013
Not What I ExpectedThese slats in these blinds are thicker and heavier than they appear to be from the photos. The mechanism works very well for rolling the blinds up and down.The method of securing the blinds from moving in the wind is cumbersome and difficult to understand. If you can understand how to accomplish it, then you'll have to install it each time you need it, because the tie-downs are not easily removed. They will be unsightly if they have to remain in place when the blinds are rolled fully up.There should be a way for the customer to trim the blinds if they are too long, since the manufacturer will not cut them to a custom length. My blinds are far too long for the opening I have to fill, so they must always be at least partially rolled up.May 3, 2010
works a treatOrdered these for a screened porch. The sun comes in one side in the afternoon - these are perfect for blocking the sun. Priced similar shades locally for $1200.00; these were much less than half that plus $50 for our handyman to install (we don't get on ladders anymore). I'm VERY PLEASED! Called to ask questions, all were answered efficiently, ordering was easy (done over the phone with the person who answered my questions), was told they'd take 20 days, they arrived in 10. An exemplary company.June 5, 2011
Excellent QualityWe had been purchasing "interior" bamboo shades for use on our exterior deck so we were really excited to find your shades actually designated for exterior use. We approached carefully, ordering just one shade (of four) to see what the quality was. We were delightfully surprised to find the quality excellent. The ropes, hardware and blinds' material all seem to be first rate. An added bonus was how easily they went up (good instructions). Thank you Blinds.com - we'll be ordering more!July 6, 2013
1-20 of 53